2017 Pittsburgh Half week 7: Plans

Back at it after a step-down week, and it felt good.  I certainly don’t want to jinx anything, but I was really proud, and a little surprised at myself this week!

Monday: Rest – I swear I say this every week, I need to make sure I add some foam rolling to this day, or any other day really.  Need to work on that.

Tuesday: 5 miles and TRX – Added a mile to the Frontrunners course ahead of time.  Two of our runners were out doing their own thing, so even though it was a beautiful night, it seemed more empty than usual without them meeting back up with us.

Wednesday: 2.5 miles – This was supposed to be a three mile run.  I just could not take any more than two and a half on the treadmill.  Decided to call it a little early.  I felt bad, but then kind of got over it, running on the treadmill has been feeling worse and worse lately, so I tried not to obsess over it.

Thursday: Rest – Book club with the young adults at church.  There was a choir concert that night, so we’d hear singers wandering past the room doing warmups, even through the heavy door, which made for an interesting evening.

Friday: 3 miles and TRX – Was committed to getting all three miles on the treadmill this time, and achieved that, although not without grumbling inside my head.

Saturday: 9.5 miles – I wanted to run with the Frontrunners, so I had to add five and a half (that extra half from Wednesday) beforehand.  Friends from the group run about my pace, and also had to get some extra miles in, 6 and 7 in total, so we made a plan!

I parked, ran to meet the two of them, we ran back to the park, and met up with the group.  Because it was rainy and muddy, we opted to run some miles exploring the neighborhood, while the rest of the group took to the trails and the road course.

We ended up wandering and just going wherever we wanted, and it was really awesome!  We found Dan Marino field, which was kind of our goal, making us running treasure hunters!

We met up with the rest of the group and I gave 6-miler a ride home, while 7 added another mile on and met everyone else at Panera.

Afterwards, I headed to the homebrew store.  I realized that if I wanted beer for Tabletop Day, I’d need to brew this weekend.  Picked up a Honey Blueberry Ale and followed that plan…

Sunday: 60 minutes cross training – And woke up the next morning to a loud pop/bang/not quite explosion.  The beer had very, very happy yeast, and it blew the airlock right off my carboy!

I was able to move it to the counter before it started pouring out foam, and it did that for a few hours before finally settling down enough for me to put the airlock back on.  We’ll see what happens.  It’s now slowly finishing up its fermenting back in it’s place.

Headed to Phipps later that day with a (new) friend and we toured the spring show, which was really, really awesome, I’m so glad I went (although it was way more than 60 minutes of walking)!

Leave a comment