2017 Pittsburgh Half week 9: Surprises

A week full of surprises and new friends!

Monday: Rest – Rest day and trying to desperately catching up with things.  That has been the hardest part I think of this training cycle,

Tuesday: 4 miles and strength training – Plan called for three miles, but I ran with the Frontrunners and got soaked.  Also got a direct hit from a car going through a puddle.  I saw it was going to happen, didn’t have any place to bolt to, and was already soaked from the rain, so I just embraced it anyway.  Note to self though: bring a towel to sit on for the ride home!

Wednesday: 3 miles – Three miles on the treadmill that actually went surprisingly fast, I was pleasantly surprised and feeling good!

Thursday: 5 miles and strength training – Met a friend from the Frontrunners and did an extra mile before the normal course.  Always nice to catch up with her and we tend to always have really good conversations while we run, I really look forward to them!

Friday: Rest – To my surprise, this was one of the first times in many weeks, probably since the beginning of Lent, that I was able to follow the plan in terms of running three days continuously in the middle of the week.  My legs felt really good, although with everything else (and the new Zelda), I didn’t sleep as much as I should have, so I need to pay better attention to that.

Saturday: 11.5 miles – I signed up for the half marathon preview run with the local road running club.  However, I wrote on my calendar the wrong time.  Thankfully, I like to get places early, so as I’m walking into Market Square, the first waves of runners are heading out, surprise!  I double timed it over to check-in, hugged a friend I randomly bumped into and then jumped in with the 11:00 pace group.  We all got jumbled together at a couple stop lights in downtown, and I know for a while, all the groups, from 9-12 minutes were together, so I really have no idea how fast I was running.

The sign-up also said “about 10 miles” which was on my training plan for the day, so boy was I surprised when I found out (after having already left the start) that we were running over 11 miles.  I gritted my teeth and went with it, no other choice, really.

The last bit of the run, which is nearby but not the actual half marathon course, had a giant hill that I wasn’t expecting and just drained me, but otherwise, I was happy with my time.  The constant stopping for red lights (I swear we hit most of them through downtown and then the South Side), gets old, but all in all, it was a decent run.

Ran past the tax day protesters at the City County building, and then they moved their rally to Market Square, so we pretended they were rooting for us having run so well!

I also met some friends from Runnit, although after the fact, since I arrived too late to meet them beforehand.  And then to conclude the (running) day, headed to lunch with one of my best friends who had put in 20 miles.

Sitting at church that evening for the Easter Vigil, I felt sore in a couple spots for sure, but nothing too bad!

Sunday: Cross train 60 minutes – Had my parents over for Easter dinner and then afterwards got caught up on a some TV while doing some walking/stepping, which kind of stretched me out a little bit, although I need to find some time to foam roll this week!

2 thoughts on “2017 Pittsburgh Half week 9: Surprises

    1. Yeah, just water, thankfully! Needed some time to dry out, that was it. And thanks, was a big week mileage-wise! This week and next will be about the same, then the big race!

      Like

Leave a comment