2017 Pittsburgh Half Week 4: Wind Chill

Sorry for the late post, been a busy (and productive) week, so let’s get to it!

Monday – Rest: I hosted game night over the weekend, so it was nice to have a day to rest and clean up the house (mostly).  Also trying desperately to get caught up on the TV shows I’m watching.  And can we talk about Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. turning into Dollhouse (not that I’m complaining)?

Tuesday – 4 miles and TRX: 4 miles with the Frontrunners and then TRX upper body workout at home.  I’m seeing some progress on my chest, and a little bit on my arms, so I’d say it’s working!

Wednesday – 3 miles: Did this on the treadmill before heading to my parent’s for dinner.  I can’t decide if I’m more fed up with running on a treadmill or running in the cold and dark.  Both are wearing on me.

Thursday – Rest: I swapped this day with Friday due to our young adult group’s Theology Thursday’s starting up.  We’re reading a book by Rowan Williams and discussing it, and for the first time in a very, very long time, I found myself in a really intellectually stimulating conversation.  Granted, I think the one guy was just showing off his knowledge of philosophy, but it was good and I look forward to it the rest of Lent.

Friday – 3 miles and TRX: Ran these at the gym so I could get to bed early, I knew Saturday was going to be an early-ish and long day.

Saturday 7 miles – The Frontrunners usual route is 4 miles, so I got there early and planned out a couple loops ahead of time to get me up to seven.  When I pulled in, two of the other guys were there, although they were running 13 that morning.  They headed off and I changed my shoes and was on my way.

I kept seeing the same security guard in her SUV as I did two loops of CMU’s campus.  I thought about waving, but didn’t want to press my luck.

It was cold.  As in, wind chill of 2.  Air temperature of 14.  I always take about a mile to loosen up, but it takes my hands a mile and a half to warm up, until then they ache and are partially numb, but if I wear thicker gloves, they sweat and I end up taking them off.

Well, I miscalculated my start time, so by the time I finished up, everyone else was still out on the course (the last four miles of mine was the normal run).  I stretched for a few minutes, but quickly got too cold, so I headed back to my car.  I had to wait about 45 minutes for everyone to get back, but then we headed to Panera.

That evening was a game night at my friend’s house and I spent the night with a guy in town and slept really well.  His mattress is really comfy (I need to look into replacing mine) plus the long miles in the cold wore me out.

Sunday – Cross train: I had thought ahead and packed my gym bag the night before, so after leaving the guy’s place I went right to the gym to get in an hour on the AMT.  I always forget how good of a workout that is, my legs feel it!

Leave a comment